The Impact of the Japanese Government’s Declaration of a State of Emergency (1st Report)

April 8, 2020

On April 7, the Japanese government declared a state of emergency in response to the rapid spread of the new coronavirus in urban areas. Targeted areas are Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Osaka, Hyogo, and Fukuoka for the period from April 8 until May 6.

There will be no direct impact on our production and shipping activities in Tochigi Prefecture, where our head office and plant are located, as it is not an area subject to the declaration of a state of emergency. At present, we have not confirmed any problems with the production and supply capacity of suppliers with factories in the target area, but we will continue to carefully monitor them in the future. There will be no hindrance to the continuation of service to customers because our domestic service bases in Japan are not in the target area.

We will continue to strive for business continuity by taking measures to ensure that we can continue to supply products and provide services in the future. In addition, we will continue to provide appropriate information on our website.

Gigaphoton Inc.
President and CEO
Katsumi Uranaka

Media inquiries:
Corporate Planning Department
Kenji Takahisa: web_info@gigaphoton.com
TEL: +81-285-37-6931

For inquiries regarding supply chain:
Purchasing Section, Production Department
Hidenobu Kameda: hidenobu_kameda@gigaphoton.com
Rika Shimizu: rika_shimizu@gigaphoton.com
TEL: +81-285-28-8433

For inquiries regarding service support and distribution:
Customer Support Department
(Japan) Takayuki Mizokami: takayuki_mizokami@gigaphoton.com
(Overseas) Kenny Oka: kenji_oka@gigaphoton.com
TEL: +81-285-8409/8423

For inquiries regarding business discussions:
Sales Department
Kiyotaka Uchida: kiyotaka_uchida@gigapoton.com
TEL: +81-285-28-8415

For other inquiries:
Administration Department
Mayumi Nakamura:
TEL: +81-285-28-8410

Overseas Offices Contact Information
Gigaphoton Korea: 史承學(Seung Hak, Sa)sh_sa@gigaphoton.com
Gigaphoton Taiwan: Satoshi Oka  satoshi_oka@gigaphoton.com  / 呉健賢 ken_wu@gigaphoton.com
Gigaphoton China: Daisuke Satou daisuke_satou@komatsu.com.cn  / 何胜杰 heshengjie@komatsu.com.cn
Singapore Branch: Jason Lim Jason_lim@gigaphoton.com
Gigaphoton USA: Dennis Smith  dennis.s@gigaphotonusa.com  /  James Graves james.g@gigaphotonusa.com
Gigaphoton Europe: Erik de Bekker  GPE_inquiry@gigaphoton.com